Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hats I have to wear…

we all know mum’s have to wear a number of ‘hats’… they are an awesome and clever species…

but for the sake of this tangent… I am going to morph all the hats they wear into one.. as I (and of course I am one of many many many) have other hats to wear too..

My hats –

1) mum

2) student

3) teacher

4) artist

5) *pictured below*

Screen Shot 2013-02-10 at 2.54.07 PM

6) author

So, with all these metaphorical ‘hats’ I need to wear.. how am I going to manage my time.. there are only so many hours in the day..

You may again ask ‘What does this have to do with publishing a book?’

But stay with me on this one… as the biggest thing I need to organise with publishing the book is time to go about the business of doing it.

Starting and completing the second and final drafts.

Finding a book editor.

Marketing.

Book launches in Sydney and Melbourne as the book is set in Sydney and Melbourne.

Funding for marketing and book launch.

Advertising.

Researching book covers, websites, ebooks, typography…

My most challenging to date – Copyright laws!!!

So, most people know the hours of 7am – 9am and 3pm – 8pm are filled with mumming… let’s throw in a couple more hours a day for housework etc…

So I have 9am – 3pm – 5 days a week and a couple of hours before bed to tend to the other 5 hats.

Do I spend an hour a day wearing each hat? Or 1 day a week wearing each hat?  Do I divide the day into two hats?

Even as I write this.. things are starting to get a little clearer… (which is one of the points of writing at all, no?)

