Tags

, , , ,

Screen Shot 2013-02-23 at 7.23.03 AM

So, bits and pieces have been happening on my road to publishing my book.

The journey is just as important as the destination.  I have a sneaking suspicion that the journey IS in fact the DESTINATION.  A friend of mine actually told me that (or words to that effect) – ‘it’s beside the point if you even publish the book in the end – the art is the getting out there and trying to do it!’

I was a bit offended at the time but now I kind of see where he is coming from..

Screen Shot 2013-02-23 at 7.22.19 AM

Bits and Pieces

a) I called my venue in Art and Public Places yesterday – ‘A Bunch of Cakes’.  They have very kindly given me the inside and the outside of their shop to show my work.  They are on the corner of Forrest and Hudson’s Rd, Spotswood, Melbourne.  They told me the undercoat painting has started for my wall that i am doing my paste ups on.  Very excited!!!  I’ll head down this morning and take some pics to show you.  A grey brick wall.  I’m sure you’ll be waiting with baited breath.

b) My mum bought me some glue yesterday so I can start learning the technique of paste ups.

c) I’m going to enter a postcard project at RMIT with ‘It’s Lentils for you, Baby!’ inspired work.

d) I went to the Artist’s Meeting to proof-read the booklet for Art in Public Places.

e) The Manager, Brooke, at the Salvo’s in Nth Williamstown called me and told me she had collected damaged 20 books for me for my ‘The Literate Letterbox Drop’ project.

So… yes… I’m still on my journey – and absolutely loving it!!!!!

Kate May Good xxx

.

