I had an Exhibition Closing of my work in Art In Public Places…

I was a little nervous no-one would show as out of the 100+ people I invited to see my film on TWO different nights – only 1 friend turned up… (THANK YOU AMY COOKSON!!!!!)  My girls came to one viewing but not sure if that counts as they are 6 and 7 and I drove them there haha..

So, after spending a week under the covers swearing I would never attempt any more artwork or, for that matter, anything ever, EVER, again!!! WAaaaaahhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   I heard the word of….

Facebook….  and Facebook told me (via a meme)… not to give up… well, words to that effect.    They said more or less ‘If you spend allyour time staring at the closed door, you will miss the open window’…

Or to be more exact… (as I found this in my archives…)

dontstareat the closded door

This mayseem a bit ho hum to some, a bit hum drum to none, but to me at that second it was what I needed to light my fire again…

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 4.15.20 PM

(Photo Credit: Daisy Amaze-me)

So, never mind that no-one came to the screening of my film,

I’ll put on a READING instead!!!!!!

And with a little creative advertising…….and with a little help from my friends – Craig Ernest Byrne, Daisy Amaze-Me, Che Stockley, Luke Dummett and Amy Cookson…and of course my wonderful ma and girls who did the hard yakka behind the scenes…

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 4.20.47 PM

(Photo Credit: Craig Ernest Byrne)

A star was born…

Yes, Luke Dummett playing ‘Nelson’… to RAVE REVIEWS (I’m told) (over a bottle of red, beers, a bland lasagne, awesome sugarless but sweetened with condensed milk cake – BUT IT WAS LITE!!!!, delicious dips (which I’ve been nibbling on today)….  I digress…

So… the stage was set on a ‘hot car roof’ (not sure how many people will get my cat on a hot tin roof reference but…)

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 4.14.14 PM

(Photo Credit: Luke Dummett)

I begged, pleaded with people to come…. PLEEEEAAAAAASSSSSEEEEEE COME!!!!!! I begged…. Pllllleeeeasaaseeee come I pleaded..

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 4.13.49 PM

(Photo Credit: Luke Dummett)

And in the words of the insufferable Kevin Costner (ok ok Teddy Roosevelt)…

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 4.16.13 PM

(Photo Credit: Daisy Amaze-me)

If you build it, they will come.

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 4.15.45 PM

(Photo Credit: Daisy Amaze-me)

But it helps to serve cake.

Besos, Kate May Good xxx

